Disappearing – one Song, one Month

So I just wrote and recorded a song, from (almost) start to finish, in one month! The song is called Disappearing, and it’s embedded above. Listen and share!

I follow Graham Cochrane’s blog The Recording Revolution. Graham’s blog is full of helpful tips on making successful home recordings. This year, he’s doing a #onesongonemonth challenge, and I decided to try it out.

It worked! Here’s a handy link to all his posts on the #onesongonemonth challenge.

So what did I do and learn? Quite a bit:

  • I have a ton of lyric rough drafts and snippets, so I pulled something that was almost finished to use for the song. I tend to start from a lyrical hook idea (usually the chorus).
  • I worked really hard to keep my volume levels down during the recording process. I was trained in the late 80s/early 90s, when tape was still king. We learned to slam the volume to tape to make awesome saturation. This simply doesn’t work in a digital world!
  • I tried out my new bass guitar on this song – and it was awesome!
  • Also tried out some new overhead mics on the drums, and they worked great.
  • I think my mix is one of the best ones I’ve done, so I’m really happy with that.
  • ok – I also learned that I can, in fact, write and record a song in one month. Wow.
  • And I followed along with Graham’s suggestions on simple ways to use eq, compression, mastering, etc.

I’m very happy with the results. What do you think? Let me know!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Recording, Song writing

Please comment - I'd love to hear from you!

David Lee King

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Music, Gear, God on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter