New Song – If I Stay!

I have a new song up on Soundcloud called If I Stay. Please take a listen, favorite it, share it, etc!

This song is sorta special to me. Why? Because I took a very different approach to writing it, and it worked.

What did I do different this time? I just … sat down and wrote the song. Took me 45 minutes or so. From start to finish. With no ideas about lyrics, chords, or melody lines at all. And I was successful – weird!

Why did I do it that way? I got the idea from Joe Gilder over at Home Studio Corner. I’ve been enjoying his YouTube content lately. He has a couple of videos where he writes a song from scratch (one of them is embedded below) and shows his process:

Cool huh? So I thought – I think I’ll try that (without making a video of my process). And what the heck – it worked!

This was a very new writing process for me. I usually wait until I have some words, or a hook, or a riff, or something, and the song is nagging at me to “write it already.” Then I end up doing a bit of editing, to make all the different ideas match up. It’s a bit tedious, but it’s worked for me over the years.

But this time? I just sat down with my guitar and my iPad, and started writing. And a song came out. Sweet! Is it my best song ever? Beats me. It does happen to be my first acceptable love song, so there’s that.

It’s also the best mix I’ve done to date. Watching all these YouTubers is slowly paying off that way. I’m picking up some good recording and mixing tips.

So anyway – my point?

  • Listen to my song and share it if you like it. Share it if you hate it, for that matter 🙂
  • Change up your writing process, if you haven’t in awhile. Try something new and different. It just might work.
  • Take some time to find people who are already sharing stuff – on YouTube, in a blog, etc. Watch read, listen, and learn.

Thanks for reading!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Song writing

Please comment - I'd love to hear from you!

David Lee King

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Music, Gear, God on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
