Can a Worship Leader Really Get in God’s Way?

I recently saw this photo circulating amongst the worship drummers on Instagram. At one time, I fully agreed with this. I didn’t want people to think about me or my performance. I’d much rather have my playing somehow point to God, and leave people thinking about God.

And of course, that’s a good thing, and sorta the point of worship.

But – my thinking on this has changed somewhat. No matter what I do, I can’t control what other people think or feel or see. I’m simply not in charge of their head- and heart-space. Sure – if I purposefully throw in the weirdest huge drum fills every time, people will notice me (or at least, notice something was “off”).

But if I play for the song and what’s happening in the room … well then. Sometimes people will notice me. People can’t help but notice when something is done amazingly well (something I’ve not achieved very often!).

And then, there’s that whole God thing. I’m pretty sure God is fully capable of doing whatever He wants to during a worship time, regardless of how well (or not so well) I play. The God thing – that’s HIS gig, not mine.

So here’s my newer response to this sentiment:

Do you think your drumming is so amazing that you could seriously take someone’s eyes off of the Creator of the Universe? I don’t think so! Musicians really need to stop focusing so much about the stuff God controls and we don’t.

And start focusing out the stuff we DO control. Like, you know, our tempo.

Pic by Markus Dinger

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Drums, Worship
2 comments on “Can a Worship Leader Really Get in God’s Way?
  1. kwkellymusic says:

    Yes! If we do our part, God is faithful to do His. I am Yours and You are mine. It’s a two way relationship.

  2. poppies says:

    I’ve sometimes wondered if worship musicians should play below the stage in a pit, like musical theater groups. It would certainly remove some of those concerns!

Please comment - I'd love to hear from you!

David Lee King

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Music, Gear, God on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
