Finally Started Recording!

Recording my drums

Finally! I have started recording. You might remember that I have been working on a new album. I have 11 songs written, and rough voice/guitar demos are done for each song.

Over the weekend, I started recording the full, album version of the songs. The photo above shows an overhead mic pointing at my drum set.

Recording everything yourself is not easy! Here’s the process I went through – sort of start and stop:

  • Practiced drumming to the rough recording a few times to get the feel of the song down, and to make sure I remembered the transitions (i.e., intro, bridge, turnarounds, etc)
  • Recorded the drums in Garageband while playing to a metronome (mainly because Logic was updating, and was threatening to take a good hour to update)
  • Moved the drums over to Logic Pro X, and did some really basic mixing and tweaking
  • Recorded the bass using Logic’s virtual amps
  • ok – recorded and re-recorded the bass … bass is not my strong suit!
  • … took a long break…
  • Recorded a guitar part using Logic’s virtual amps
  • Realized Logic’s virtual amps sound horrible, and re-recorded the guitar using my real amp and a mic
  • Recorded 2-3 other guitar parts
  • Re-recorded the bass with a real amp and a mic (again, much better sounding than the virtual amp in Logic)
  • recorded a short guitar solo

Now all that’s left is the singing – main part and a couple of backup vocal parts. And the mixing, mastering, etc.

Next time, I’ll change this process up a bit! No more virtual amps – I’ll just stick with the real ones. I’ll probably just record in Logic – no real need for Garageband. And I’ll probably record the guitar first, then the bass. That seems to work better for me.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Recording

Please comment - I'd love to hear from you!

David Lee King

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Music, Gear, God on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
