Finishing my Songs … this year!

Right now, I have an album’s worth of songs, waiting to be finished and recorded. I just need to … well … actually roll up my sleeves and get em done.

Why aren’t those songs recorded yet? Partly because I’m a bit of a procrastinator. Party because I do a lot professionally (busy job, second job speaking, writing & consulting). Partly because I have a busy family.

OK. Mainly because of the procrastination bit.

What do I have left to do on my songs? Bunches:

  • All the lyrics are written.
  • Most of those lyrics have some sketch of a melody, at least for the chorus.
  • I need to sit down with my guitar and those lyrics, and finalize the melody lines.
  • Then I need to figure out the details of the song – the intro, the order (i.e., intro, verse 1, chorus, bridge, solo, etc.), and the ending.
  • Then … I need to record some sort of scratch track, probably with my voice, guitar, and a click track.
  • Then on to recording the music!

After that, I’ll need to do something with those songs. I’ll probably put them up on Bandcamp, and maybe on SoundCloud. I might even experiment with CD Baby or something. Not sure out that yet.

But my plan, procrastination be danged, is to finish all those songs this year. I can do it!

How about you? Do you have some songs in your head, and you’ve been putting off finishing them? I’d love to hear about it – please share in the comments.

We’ll finish those songs yet!

Image by Charles Hutchins

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Song writing
One comment on “Finishing my Songs … this year!
  1. […] awhile back, when I said I’m going to record some music this year? Well, this is me, testing my drum micing technique, and getting reacquainted with Logic Pro […]

Please comment - I'd love to hear from you!

David Lee King

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Music, Gear, God on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
