Prepping for Sunday

Screenshot 2:19:14, 10:06 PMHow do I prep for leading worship on Sunday mornings?

Honestly? Mainly practice. Ok – I pray, too. That’s extremely important!

But for the musical stuff, I practice running through all the songs (usually four of them) 2-3 times.

This helps me:

  • get the feel for the tempo and the style of the song
  • nail the transitions between songs
  • feel confident with the singing parts (that’s probably my weakest part of worship leading

My wife frequently sings with me, so if I’m doing a newer song, we will run through that one together. This helps her find a harmony before we’re singing in front of people on Sunday morning!

After a bit of practicing, I am definitely ready – both in playing and in singing – to lead worship for my church.

What do you do to get ready for a performance? I’d love to know!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Leading Worship

Please comment - I'd love to hear from you!

David Lee King

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Music, Gear, God on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
