Changing Strings Makes a HUGE Difference

So worship leaders – how often do you change strings?

I usually lead worship with my trusty acoustic guitar, a Taylor 314CE. Taylors are naturally bright-sounding guitars, which I love.

The Elixir Nanoweb 80/20 Bronze strings I use help keep everything bright, and they sound better than other strings I’ve tried (and believe me, I’ve tried em all).

They settle in after a couple of days of use, and then have a very consistent sound – with much brightness – for 1-2 months or so.

When it’s time to change strings, my sound starts to lose some of that brightness. The guitar “goes to mush” – the brightness and consistent definition starts disappearing. And the guitar gets a bit, shall we say, persnickety, when it comes to tuning.

So I replace the strings, and everything goes back to normal for awhile.

How about you? How often do you change those strings? I’d love to know!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Guitar Maintenance
2 comments on “Changing Strings Makes a HUGE Difference
  1. Kenny Green says:

    At least once every 2 months, and yes they are Elixirs on my Ovation and flatwounds on my GIbson ES335

  2. Sweet! Nice to know. I’ve never tried flatwounds myself. I use pretty normal Ernie Ball 11’s on my tele.

Please comment - I'd love to hear from you!

David Lee King

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Music, Gear, God on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
